American Sidney Gathrid stepped in to replace William Rugolo

William RUGOLO (DEN) dislocated his shoulder yesterday and he was unable to sail. In true sportsmanship Sidney GATHRID (USA) stepped in to replace William as crewman on so that DENMARK team could continue the World Championship. William hands over the Denmark jersey to Sidney. thank you Sidney!

Day 1 – YMRWC

Just finish the first day of  Youth Match Racing World Championship.

After the opening ceremony took place yesterday in the streets of the village of Ledro finishing in Piazza Mülleheim where the authorities have welcomed the twelve teams from eleven different nations, only Italy has the right to be present with two crews.

Today has entered the heart of the event.
On time, the Regatta Committee, chaired by Giorgio Battinelli at 10.00 am, began the procedures.
Eleven flights ended, for a total of 44 matches; the Italian Ettore Botticini with Lorenzo Gennari and Simone Busonero is leading  with seven victories and zero defeats, with 6 victories and 1 lose the Americans with Christopher Weis are now second and 3rd on the temporary podium the New Zealand crew of Nick Egnot-Johnson.

Hoping for the wind to assist like today, tomorrow the procedures will start at 10.00.

Results day 1





2018 Youth Match Racing World Championships – Notice of Race released

The sixth edition of the Youth Match Racing Worlds will be hosted on Lake Ledro in Trentino, Italy, from the 3 – 8 July 2018.

The Notice of Race (NoR) for the 2018 Youth Match Racing World Championships, which outlines entry requirements, sailing rules, course information and event formatting, has been released.

Click here for the Notice of Race.

The competition will feature eight J22 class boats and sailors competing will have to be under 23 years old on 31st December 2018.

Boy’s crew will have three sailors, including the skipper and mixed crews as well as Girl’s crew will be four, per boat.

This event consists of four stages; Stage 1 – A Full Round Robin organized, initially, in two semi round robins, Stage 2 – Semi Finals, Stage 3 – Petite Final and Stage 4 – Finals.